Lots to be Thankful for!

Life at the moment is not sectioned by weeks but by Pride of Dakota Shows.

IMG_1522

We started November out by packing up and heading to Grand Forks. Then to Minot.

IMG_1525

Last weekend Judy and I hit the road for Fargo.

IMG_1164

I love the Pride of Dakota Holiday Showcases!. It’s a ton of work getting all of the product ready, packing it up, driving often hazardous roads, setting up, being on my best behavior 🙂 and tearing it all back down, then driving home tired. But this is the only time of the year I get to spend time with my Pride of Dakota family. And it is so refreshing to visit with long-time customers at each show.

IMG_1532-0

 

IMG_1530

What is really cool about these showcases is that there are so many classy products made by North Dakotans right here in our great state. This is not a craft show. This is a showcase of business people, professionals who make a living with first class food items, jewelry, photography, gifts and many other cools things.

IMG_1167

An old (sorry, Hallie!) friend sent me these after a discussion about ‘old fashioned’ baked goods. I know that there are many who suffer from celiac disease, gluten intolerance, diabetes, high cholesterol, obesity, heart disease and more. But my old fashioned delicacies just wouldn’t be the same made with margarine, saccharine or rice flour!

IMG_1183

The Thanksgiving week gave us a break. Long enough to decorate The Prairie Bistro for Christmas parties!

IMG_1178

We also had time to watch the annual Parade of Lights in Mohall. Not sure Ernie was impressed, be we had fun!

This entry was posted in Baking, Everyday Circus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lots to be Thankful for!

  1. Tim Reardon says:

    What a wonderful tribute to your brother. I do believe God places “teachers” among us. Although I did not know Nathan, I have been fortunate enough to be taught by some of his “colleagues” over the years. Being a vintage Cub Cadet owner brought me to your page. I wish I had met him. After all, these “teachers” are the worlds true superstars. Best wishes for you, your family, and Nathan from Duluth, Minnesota.

Leave a Reply

