Spaghetti and Meatballs

Mark and I eat out a lot. We know we shouldn’t. Often when acquaintances see us eating out they give us a hard time because we cater and have a seasonal restaurant. “Why are you eating out when you make yummy steaks, soups, whatever.” Our excuse is that we get tired of cooking all the time, so we let someone else do it (and the dishes :)). The truth is that I am lazy and indecisive; I don’t mind doing the actual cooking or the cleaning up. I just can’t make up my mind what to make, so I cave and we go out.

We ran to Minot today to run some errands. On the way home I asked Mark what he wanted for dinner. He surprised me and said “spaghetti and meatballs.” Not sure why because he never wants that. But the stars were aligned. I didn’t have to make a decision and, for once, I had plenty of time (sort of!) to get the job done. I went to my go-to recipe books and in Cook’s Illustrated 2010 I found what I was looking for. Three hours and one trip to the grocery store later I put a real honest-to-goodness made from scratch meal on the table. This really doesn’t sound like that big a deal, but for me it was!

I even set the table correctly (nearly) and lit the candles. Kinda threw Mark off. I mean, a real homemade meal, all the correct silverware on the table and no mail, magazines or reciepts in sight!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

