Happy New Year!

Last February a friend suggested I start blogging. Since she is usually telling me to simplify, I thought she was joking, but she wasn’t. I didn’t know much about blogging, but it had interested me for a while. The time was right as foot surgery was keeping me from doing much else constructive. It has been an interesting growth phase, but I have really enjoyed the process and the new blogging friends I have met in 2011 and look forward to refining my writing and photography skills and developing even more friends through this process in 2012!

This week we experimented with several different stuffed mushroom and chicken wing recipes. We catered a house-warming/baby shower for 100 on Friday night and a smaller party on Saturday. It was fun to do something different for a change. I think the Phylo cups filled cream cheese and a sweet hot pepper relish was the best. Naturally, I was too stressed and forgetful to photograph these. One of my New Year’s resolutions is to remember to photograph! It’s not so hard in the spring, but I’m really not good at food photography.

Our traditional New Year’s meal is fondue. Not a good choice for two overweight middle-aged adults, one of whom has a heart condition. But it is soooo good!

I like the cauliflower and shrimp best. And the olives! Mark & Willie leaned more toward the sirloin and the experimental chicken wings. We used both a fish & chip batter and a tempura. The former was better, but maybe because Mark made it with beer instead of water.

Here’s to a healthy, peaceful 2012 for all my family and friends!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year!

  1. Linda says:

    Its been great getting to know you. We use to fondue on New Years all the time. Everything from fried veggies and meat to fruit in chocolate but my favorite is still the Swiss way…..cheese and bread 😉 Happy New Year and all the very best in 2012! I think of you often.

Leave a Reply

