September 17, 2011

Time to switch gears. Yah, there’s still greenhouse stuff to do. Kaitlin & I brought in all the plants we wanted to keep over the winter. As usual, it was more than we should have. But a few will die from lack of care ;). Only the toughest survive us!

Our apple trees were over-loaded. They’ve never tasted so sweet or produced so heavily. We had way too many so Willie picked tons of them to feed to his pigs. Can you say apple-cured ham?

Then Robbie, Kaitlin & I boiled, baked, weighed, counted, bagged and boxed getting ready for our first Pride of Dakota Showcase in Dickinson this weekend.

This is a batch of Extreme Nut Candy. It is my own creation of almonds, brazils, cashews, hazelnuts, macadamias, pecans and pistachios in a toffee coating. We also wrapped caramels, cut shortbread, scooped molasses spice cookies.  My Mom & I headed for Dickinson to the Harvest Showcase on Friday. We got all set up that night. It’s amazing how long it takes us to set up the same booth every time. The really amazing part is that we were nearly set up and I realized that all those Molasses Spice Cookies and Mocha Cookies (my 1st and 3rd best selling cookies) were still at home in the freezer! That freezer was 250 miles away! A friend offered to bring them to me but that was a bit hard to justify, especially when I could blame no one but myself. Not that I didn’t try to blame everyone else. Didn’t work. Of course, the first two customers came specifically for those items. Guess I’ll remember next time!

But we had a great day today, selling nearly everything we brought. And it was so much fun to see most of our Pride of Dakota friends and get back into the swing of the baking season.

This entry was posted in Baking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September 17, 2011

  1. Linda says:

    C’mon……you’re makin’ me drool!!

Leave a Reply

