Chicken Noodle Soup & Snow

The storm was nice and only lasted a day, not the 2 we were promised. The best part is that the weatherman was way off when he said the sun wasn’t gonna come out for another week. It’s still cold, but very bright, which makes up for alot. The geraniums and pansies can be fooled into thinking it’s spring, at least!

We catered for a local ag dealership today. All day yesterday Robbie & I chopped veggies, sliced ham, cooked macaroni and other sundry things to be ready for today. On the menu was my Grandma’s Chicken Noodle soup. Her homemade noodles always make her feel close to me!

Rolled and ready to cut.

She always made Chicken & Noodles after something like corn picking or combining or another farm project when she had an old hen and hungry men. Her four sons always requested C&N when they came home to visit. It was one of those humble meals that create warm memories.

Grandma taught me how to make them when I was quite young, but I didn’t do it often. Then when she died, the boys wanted some for after her funeral. So we took out the flour and the cream and the eggs. I cracked an egg into a cup. Then I filled the cup with cream, just like I remembered. But how much flour? Couldn’t remember. It was October. The front door kept blowing open at every step of the process. I dumped the flour in a pile and made a well for the cream/egg. Then started to stir. How stiff should it be? The door blew open again. I added more flour. Ready yet? Open again. A bit more. Darn door wouldn’t stay shut. Back to the noodles. When I finally felt they were right, the door quit blowing open. The boys and I always figured Grandma was there, guiding us through that first batch without her.

How thick? How long?

Grandma rolled them up in a log, then sliced them for nice long strands. I like them best that way (of course, cuz that’s how she did them) but farmers standing around eating them out of a foam soup bowl really prefer stubby little noodles.

Oodles of Noodles!

So we made Chicken Noodle and Chicken Tortilla Soup (The Prairie Bistro’s signature soup), Pasta Salad (never the same twice!) and Ham & Roast beef sandwiches for 100 today. Oh, can’t forget the Snickerdoodles, Peanut Butter, Chocolate Chip and Mocha Cookies.  Needless to say, we didn’t get much done in the greenhouse today!

And I’m still not fully tuned to this blogging, yet, because I took my camera with me everywhere today, but got busy and forgot to use it! Please be patient with me!

Oh, and King Tut got in a big fight with the window again today. My teenage friend who clean house for me today was really curious about why there was a feed bucket with corn and oats in the bedroom! She got it when I told her about King Tut!

This entry was posted in Baking, QCS Ranch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken Noodle Soup & Snow

  1. dayphoto says:

    You gave goosebumps…I do believe that your Grandmother really was there! Great post, by the way!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

